Concept
Registering an HK Ltd does not create a bank account. The Companies Registry issues a Certificate of Incorporation, the Inland Revenue Department issues a Business Registration Certificate, but the bank separately decides whether it will open an account for a particular company. The decision depends on ownership structure, directors, industry, currencies, payment countries, source of funds, and the company's connection to Asia.
HKMA describes Hong Kong's banking system as three-tier: licensed banks, restricted licence banks, and deposit-taking companies. For ordinary corporate accounts, licensed banks are the ones that operate—they maintain current and savings accounts, accept deposits of any size, process cheques, and use the word "bank" without restrictions (HKMA, Three-tier Banking System).
The complete list of authorized institutions is in the HKMA register.
What Banks Check During Account Opening
HKMA explicitly states: banks are required to conduct customer due diligence and ongoing monitoring under AMLO Cap. 615 and AML/CFT Guideline. Requirements differ across banks due to internal policies, head office requirements, and foreign regulators (HKMA, Account Opening and Maintenance).
In the application, the bank collects the company's economic picture:
- Ownership and control — ultimate beneficial owners, directors, actual controllers of funds.
- Source of funds and source of wealth — where the capital came from, where the owner's money came from.
- Business model — product, website, contracts, invoices, revenue, tax history.
- Counterparties — who are the clients and suppliers, which countries and currencies.
- Connection to Hong Kong — substance, relationships with Asian counterparties, tax position.
- Risk-sensitive elements — crypto, sanctions, dual-use, gambling, financial intermediary, Russia-related indicators.
After opening, the bank retains ongoing control tools: periodic review, transaction monitoring, document requests for specific payments, temporary transaction freezes, limit revisions, relationship termination.
Bank Map by Role
The HKMA register lists dozens of authorized institutions. In practice, corporate accounts are opened by banks of several types, and route selection starts with role, not brand.
HSBC
The first association with Hong Kong banking. HSBC Hong Kong offers Business Integrated Account—current, savings, time deposit, and investment sub-accounts under one number—and three SME options: Sprint Account (for startups), Business Direct (for SME), BusinessVantage (for international business). Initial deposit—HKD 10,000, application via online or app with appointment at Business Centre.
Strong branch for companies with international presence and clear banking history. A big name does not mean soft compliance, but rather more formalized verification.
Standard Chartered
Systemic international bank, one of three banknote-issuing banks in Hong Kong. Logic similar to HSBC: international operations, treasury, trade finance, corporate products. Makes sense for companies with clear international operating history in Asia, the UK, or the Middle East.
Bank of China (Hong Kong)
Key bank for the Hong Kong–China link. The bank's public business account-opening page separates documents for companies from Hong Kong and from mainland China, Macau, Taiwan, and other jurisdictions. Separate line—SME banking and Corporate RMB Services.
Suitable when Hong Kong is used as a bridge to mainland China: RMB, suppliers, trade documents, receivables from Chinese operations, local payments.
Hang Seng Bank
Local Hong Kong bank with strong SME offering, part of HSBC Group. Integrated Business Solutions Account, Biz Virtual+ Account, Business e-Banking, cards, FX operations, FPS, CHATS. Separately—cross-border banking for mainland China, Macau and Taiwan.
Practical local bank for companies needing a Hong Kong operating account and working in HK context.
DBS Bank (Hong Kong)
Tech-savvy Asian bank with strong SME infrastructure. Multi-Currency Savings Account supports HKD, USD, RMB, and 11 more currencies, can add Current Account and Fixed Deposit, DBS IDEAL, FPS, SWIFT gpi, and online opening available.
DBS explicitly separates routes: for Hong Kong Permanent Identity Card holders—fast online scenario; for foreign shareholders and directors—video conference or in-person identification and certified document copies.
Citi
In Hong Kong, Citi is a Tier-1 international commercial bank (Citigroup), not a mass-market bank for new companies. Its personal banking is tiered: Citigold requires an average daily combined balance of HK$1,500,000 and Citigold Private Client HK$8,000,000, with Citi Private Bank as a separate franchise above them.
More details: Citibank Hong Kong — business account and Citigold Private. Suitable for companies with mature operating model: turnover, clients, international group, large USD-flow through US correspondent network.
Bank of East Asia
Local Hong Kong bank with CorporatePlus Account—savings, current, time deposits, and investment sub-accounts under one number. Online application available for simple HK structures: sole proprietorship, partnership, or Hong Kong limited company without corporate directors and shareholders, no more than three individual directors and signatories. For complex structures—appointment at branch.
OCBC Bank (Hong Kong)
OCBC HK divides SME accounts by structure complexity:
- Online Business Integrated Account—for startups and SME with simple structure;
- Business Account—for growing businesses;
- Foreign Business Account—separate product for companies with foreign ownership.
Like Standard Chartered's Overseas Company Account, it is a dedicated product for foreign-owned companies.
China-facing Banks
ICBC (Asia), Nanyang Commercial Bank, Bank of Communications (Hong Kong), China Construction Bank (Asia), China Merchants Bank Hong Kong branch—separate China-facing logic.
CMB Wing Lung sits slightly apart — China Merchants Bank's own Hong Kong subsidiary, which carries a client up a ladder from the mass-market Sunflower tier into private banking, so it fits where mainland settlement has to sit alongside wealth service rather than an operating account alone.
Suitable for goods trade, settlements with factories, CNY/CNH/HKD/USD, and Greater China settlement. Requires different documentary base: goods, supplier, buyer, logistics, HS codes, origin of goods, sometimes physical presence in China.
Digital banks (8 HKMA licences)
HKMA issued 8 virtual bank licences in 2019; since the authorization guideline was revised on 25 October 2024 the category is officially named digital banks. These are licensed banks, subject to the same supervisory requirements as conventional banks and covered by the Deposit Protection Scheme up to HK$800,000 — they are not payment institutions. HKMA notes that digital banks normally target the retail segment, including SMEs. The eight licences sit with very different shareholders — all eight are compared by shareholder, segment and entry conditions in the map of Hong Kong virtual banks.
Two of the eight take personal clients only, Mox Bank and WeLab Bank, so a corporate application starts by striking them off.
Suitable for simple HK company with local ownership or cross-border with mainland China. For a multi-tier foreign-owned structure the digital route is usually limited.
How to Choose a Route
| Bank Type | When Suitable |
|---|---|
| Licensed bank with SME product | Ordinary HK Ltd with clear operation |
| International commercial bank | Company with turnover, group, international payments |
| China-facing bank (BOCHK, Nanyang, ICBC) | Trade with China, RMB/CNY/CNH, suppliers from Mainland |
| Digital bank | Simple HK structure, local ownership, basic payments |
| Private bank / investment-linked bank | Not a route for operational corporate account of new company |
| Restricted licence bank, deposit-taking co. | Usually does not solve everyday corporate banking task |
Filter by role is more important than a long list of names. Within the role, the banks separate on three published numbers — the application fee for a foreign-owned or layered company, the balance that waives the monthly fee, and whether a remote channel exists without an HKID — compared bank by bank in the fee and route matrix below.
Corporate account: published fees and routes by bank
The role filter says which kind of bank to approach; the published tariffs say what the approach costs and who can make it without flying in. Seven licensed banks publish their corporate account-opening and maintenance charges, and read side by side they show that the bank prices the ownership chain before it has looked at the business. Figures are from each bank's current commercial tariff: HSBC (August 2026 issue), Hang Seng (CBT-R20, April 2026), Standard Chartered (from 22 November 2025), DBS, BEA, OCBC (from 18 March 2026) and BOCHK.
| Bank | Application fee, simple HK Ltd | Foreign owner or layered structure | Monthly fee below balance | Remote route | Product for foreign ownership |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HSBC | HK$1,300 online or in the app (HK$1,600 on paper); HK$2,250 if an overseas HSBC branch facilitates the opening | HK$11,000 overseas company; HK$11,000 three or more layers | Business Direct HK$200 below HK$100,000; BusinessVantage HK$450 below HK$100,000 and HK$200 below HK$500,000, waived from HK$500,000 | Online or app; eligible applicants open remotely, from 3 working days; HK$10,000 initial deposit | Sprint only for single-layer HK firms under 3 years with turnover up to US$3M |
| Hang Seng | HK$1,300; HK$1,000 when applying remotely | HK$10,000 overseas company search; HK$8,000 on top for three or more layers | HK$200 below HK$100,000 | Remote application at HK$1,000 | — |
| Standard Chartered | HK$1,200 | HK$10,000 overseas company | HK$300 below HK$200,000; Overseas Company Account HK$500 below HK$500,000 | not stated in the tariff | Overseas Company Account |
| DBS | from HK$1,200 | from HK$10,000 overseas or special company | HK$250 below HK$50,000; HK$10,000 initial deposit | Same day if every party holds an HK permanent ID; video or in person for foreigners | — |
| Bank of East Asia | HK$800 | HK$10,000 overseas company; HK$10,000 for listed special industries | HK$200 below HK$50,000 | not stated in the tariff | — |
| OCBC | HK$1,200 if every UBO is an HK permanent resident | HK$6,500 with a non-permanent-resident UBO; HK$10,000 overseas company or three or more layers | HK$500 below HK$100,000 plus HK$800 a year (Business and Foreign Business Account); online account HK$150 below HK$50,000 | not stated in the tariff | Foreign Business Account |
| BOCHK | not on the fee page | separate document set for mainland, Macau, Taiwan and overseas entities | HK$120 below HK$50,000; Plus HK$150 below HK$200,000; Elite HK$200 below HK$500,000 and HK$100 below HK$1,000,000 | Remote only with no corporate shareholder and up to 10 related parties, all HKID holders | — |
The first reading is the ownership surcharge. The same HK Ltd costs HK$800–1,300 to file as a local company and HK$10,000–11,000 as an overseas company. OCBC adds a middle band of HK$6,500 when any ultimate beneficial owner is not a Hong Kong permanent resident; DBS treats such a company as a special company, from HK$10,000 plus an annual administration fee from HK$5,000, and BEA charges HK$10,000 to a company without a physical presence and an operating office in Hong Kong. OCBC and DBS spell out the trigger: their overseas-company tariffs cover not only companies registered abroad but Hong Kong companies with an overseas-incorporated corporate shareholder or director, so a BVI holding on top of an HK Ltd moves the application into the HK$10,000 band. HSBC, Hang Seng, BEA and OCBC price three or more layers separately, and Hang Seng and OCBC state that the fee is non-refundable whether or not the account opens.
The second reading is the running cost. Waiver balances run from HK$50,000 (DBS, BEA, BOCHK's basic account, Hang Seng's Biz Virtual+ account) through HK$500,000 (HSBC BusinessVantage, Standard Chartered's Overseas Company Account) to HK$1,000,000 for BOCHK's Elite account. An overseas company that keeps HK$150,000 in Standard Chartered's Overseas Company Account pays HK$6,000 a year in maintenance; at DBS the same balance clears the HK$50,000 monthly-fee threshold, although DBS charges overseas and special companies a separate annual administration fee from HK$5,000. The fee grid rewards a company that concentrates its balance in one bank over one that spreads thin balances across three.
The third reading is the route. The published remote channels lean on Hong Kong identity: DBS completes an opening within the same working day only when every shareholder and director holds a Hong Kong permanent identity card, and BOCHK's remote service requires no corporate shareholder and at most ten related parties, all HKID holders. HSBC lets eligible applicants complete the whole process online without a meeting but does not publish the eligibility test. For a foreign director, DBS offers a video conference or a face-to-face meeting with certified copies of identity documents, and HSBC charges HK$2,250 when an overseas HSBC branch facilitates the opening. Standard Chartered and OCBC answer foreign ownership with a dedicated account — the Overseas Company Account and the Foreign Business Account — each with its own maintenance fee.
Corporate profile → first application
| Profile | Where to file first | Why |
|---|---|---|
| HK Ltd owned directly by one foreign individual, simple operations | OCBC Business Account, or DBS (video identification) | Lowest published entry for a beneficial owner who is not a permanent resident: HK$6,500 at OCBC; DBS treats such a company as a special company (from HK$10,000 plus an annual fee from HK$5,000) |
| HK Ltd under a BVI or Cayman holding | OCBC Foreign Business Account, or DBS as an overseas company | Both tariffs treat a Hong Kong company with an overseas corporate shareholder as an overseas company, so the HK$10,000 band applies either way |
| Trade with mainland suppliers in CNH/RMB | BOCHK | A separate document set for mainland, Macau, Taiwan and overseas entities; monthly fee from HK$120 |
| Balance above HK$500,000, trade finance needed | HSBC BusinessVantage or Standard Chartered | Fee waived at that balance (HSBC BusinessVantage from HK$500,000, Standard Chartered's business account from HK$200,000) |
| Money services, virtual commodities, gaming | BEA or DBS with the HK$10,000 special-company fee, or a payment institution | Both tariffs name money services among the special industries priced at HK$10,000 |
Worked example. A trading HK Ltd is owned through a BVI company by one individual living outside Hong Kong. DBS and OCBC both treat it as an overseas company, so filing at both at the same time costs at least HK$20,000 in application fees (from HK$10,000 at DBS, HK$10,000 at OCBC) before either bank has decided, and OCBC's tariff states that its fee is non-refundable whatever the outcome. With the BVI layer removed and the shares held directly by the individual, OCBC's fee falls to HK$6,500, while DBS still prices the company as a special company from HK$10,000 because its owner is not a Hong Kong permanent resident — about HK$16,500 for the two applications. Once open, a HK$150,000 balance in OCBC's Business or Foreign Business Account clears the HK$100,000 threshold for the monthly fee and leaves the HK$800 annual fee. The holding layer is often worth keeping for other reasons, but it has a price at the bank that the incorporation budget rarely shows.
When a Banking License Is Specifically Needed
A licensed bank is needed if the company's task includes:
- storing large balance and building banking history;
- bank reference letter in the sense of HKMA institution;
- trade finance, import/export letters of credit, bank guarantees;
- credit lines and trade finance facilities;
- access to the bank's correspondent relationships for non-standard payments.
If the task is operational payments, FX, cards, marketplace revenue, supplier payouts—in parallel or instead of a bank, the payment rails work: Airwallex, Wise Business, Currenxie, Payoneer. Differences in licensing regimes are set out in the payment licences guide.
Personal accounts and wealth tiers
The corporate route above answers one question; a person who lives outside Hong Kong and wants an account in their own name meets a different grid. The licensed banks sell personal banking in published tiers, and the tier works as an admission test: the bank applies the balance threshold rather than negotiating it. Thresholds below are taken from the banks' own qualification pages as at September 2026.
| Bank | Published personal tiers | Private-bank tier above |
|---|---|---|
| HSBC Hong Kong | HSBC One: no minimum when opened with an HKID; opened without an HKID from 1 January 2026, HK$100 a month unless the total relationship balance averages HK$10,000 for three consecutive months. Premier HK$1,000,000 TRB; Premier Elite HK$7,800,000 TRB | HSBC Global Private Banking |
| Hang Seng Bank | Prestige Banking: monthly fee waived from HK$1,000,000 TRB; Prestige Private HK$8,000,000 TRB | — |
| Standard Chartered Hong Kong | Priority Banking HKD 1,000,000 average daily relationship balance; Priority Private HKD 8,000,000 average total balance | Standard Chartered Private Bank |
| Citibank Hong Kong | Citigold HK$1,500,000 average daily combined balance; Citigold Private Client HK$8,000,000 | Citi Private Bank |
| Bank of East Asia | SupremeGold: HK$250 a month, waived from HK$500,000 average daily relationship balance; SupremeGold Private from HK$5,000,000 of assets | BEA Private Banking |
| DBS Hong Kong | Treasures HK$1,000,000 and Treasures Private Client HK$8,000,000 of investible assets | DBS Private Bank, from US$5,000,000 of investible assets |
The ladder converges on two numbers. HK$1,000,000 is the affluent gate at HSBC, Hang Seng, Standard Chartered and DBS alike, and HK$8,000,000 is the upper retail gate at Hang Seng, Standard Chartered, Citi and DBS. Citi sets its first wealth tier higher, at HK$1,500,000, while BEA waives the SupremeGold fee from HK$500,000. Above HK$8,000,000 the retail ladder ends and the private-bank franchises take over; DBS, for one, states US$5,000,000 of investible assets for its private bank.
Deposit protection does not vary with the tier or the bank. The Deposit Protection Scheme covers eligible deposits up to HK$800,000 per depositor per bank, the ceiling in force since 1 October 2024, and it reaches a digital bank exactly as it reaches HSBC. A Premier Elite balance of HK$7,800,000 is therefore HK$7,000,000 of direct exposure to one licence; the schemes and what each one recognises as a depositor are set out in the client asset protection map.
What actually separates these banks for someone living abroad is the opening route rather than the threshold. HSBC Hong Kong publishes app-based opening for holders of an eligible HKID or overseas passport who are located in designated countries or regions, and a separate route for mainland exit-entry permit holders who activate the account in Hong Kong through the app within 90 days without a branch visit. An HSBC One account opened without an HKID also carries the below-balance fee and, for designated customers, lower transfer and withdrawal limits in the first six months.
Q/A
Personal accounts
Which Hong Kong bank opens a personal account for a non-resident without a visit?
HSBC Hong Kong publishes the clearest route: holders of an eligible HKID or overseas passport who are in designated countries or regions can apply in the HSBC HK app, and mainland exit-entry permit holders can apply from the mainland and activate the account in Hong Kong through the app within 90 days without visiting a branch. An HSBC One account opened without an HKID from 1 January 2026 pays HK$100 a month unless the total relationship balance averages HK$10,000 for three consecutive months.
Do the wealth tiers change how much of the money is protected?
No. The Deposit Protection Scheme pays up to HK$800,000 per depositor per bank on eligible deposits, and the figure is the same for HSBC One and for Global Private Banking, for a digital bank and for a note-issuing one. A tier buys a banker, pricing and product access; everything above HK$800,000 at one licence is direct exposure to that bank, which is why large balances are split across licences rather than tiers.
Opening a corporate account
Why does a BVI holding above an HK company raise the account-opening fee?
Because several banks price the ownership chain, not only the place of incorporation. OCBC's tariff treats a Hong Kong company with an overseas-incorporated corporate shareholder or director as an overseas company (HK$10,000 instead of HK$1,200), HSBC charges HK$11,000 for an overseas company and the same for three or more layers, and Standard Chartered HK$10,000 against HK$1,200 for a local company.
Is the application fee refunded if the bank declines the account?
No. Hang Seng and OCBC state in their tariffs that the account-opening administration or handling fee is non-refundable regardless of the outcome, so filing with several banks in parallel multiplies a cost that is lost if the application fails.
Does incorporating an HK Ltd guarantee a corporate bank account?
No. The Certificate of Incorporation and Business Registration Certificate create and register the company, but the bank makes a separate risk-based decision. It reviews beneficial owners, control, business model, counterparties, payment countries and source of funds; HKMA does not impose one identical document checklist on every bank.
Must a director travel to Hong Kong to open the account?
Not always. HKMA recognises applications handled at a branch or through internet and mobile channels, but each bank sets identification steps for its risk and product. A simple structure may pass remotely, while foreign directors, layered ownership or higher risk often lead to video verification or an in-person meeting.
Protection and ongoing checks
Can a payment account replace a full Hong Kong bank account?
Not for every task. A payment provider may supply account details, FX and payouts, but its licence, safeguarding model and access to trade finance differ from those of a licensed bank. Check the regulator’s register, whose name holds the funds, balance protection and availability of SWIFT, guarantees, letters of credit and lending.
Are company funds in a digital bank protected up to HKD 800,000?
Yes, if they are eligible deposits at the Hong Kong office of a licensed bank that is a Deposit Protection Scheme member. The HKD 800,000 limit is per depositor per bank and includes corporate and foreign-currency accounts; offshore and structured deposits, e-wallets and stored-value funds are excluded.
Does bank KYC end once the account has been opened?
No. AMLO and HKMA guidance require ongoing due diligence and transaction monitoring, so the bank may refresh ownership and business information, request contracts or evidence for a particular payment and reassess the risk profile. Failure to answer can lead to transaction restrictions or termination under the bank’s procedures.