Concept
Private Banking is a dedicated segment within GTBank's Personal Banking business under the tagline "Let's Build your Legacy": personal advisors, dedicated lounges and meeting rooms. There is no public tier ladder, and no official entry minimum is published — the "US$50,000+" figure circulating online could not be verified against primary sources. Group leadership: GTCO Group CEO Segun Agbaje (MD/CEO of GTBank since June 2011), GTBank MD/CEO Miriam Olusanya (since July 2021 — the bank's first female MD), GTCO Chairman Suleiman Barau; the head of the private-banking unit is not publicly disclosed.
History and evolution
- 1988 — formed by ~35 young professionals spearheaded by Tayo Aderinokun and Fola Adeola.
- 1 August 1990 — Central Bank of Nigeria licence No. 58.
- 11 February 1991 — operations begin in Victoria Island, Lagos.
- 1996 — listed on the Nigerian Stock Exchange.
- 2002 — universal banking licence.
- January 2007 — first Nigerian corporate Eurobond (US$350 m).
- 26 July 2007 — GDRs listed on the LSE Main Market: the first Nigerian company and the first sub-Saharan African bank to do so.
- 12 March 2008 — GTBank UK licensed.
- June 2011 — Segun Agbaje becomes MD/CEO after Aderinokun's death.
- 2013–2014 — 70 % of Fina Bank Group acquired (~US$100 m), entering East Africa.
- 17 June 2021 — GTCO Plc holding structure becomes effective; July 2021 — Miriam Olusanya appointed GTBank MD.
- 9 July 2025 — GTCO ordinary shares admitted to the LSE Main Market: the first Nigerian and West African financial institution with such a listing; the GDR programme was terminated.
Regulation
Guaranty Trust Bank Ltd is a CBN-licensed international commercial bank with NDIC-insured deposits. Guaranty Trust Bank (UK) Ltd is authorised and supervised by the PRA and FCA (licensed 12 March 2008), with FSCS protection. Nine African banking subsidiaries are regulated locally.
Recapitalisation: under the CBN circular of 28 March 2024, international banks must hold at least ₦500 bn in paid-up capital by 31 March 2026. GTCO raised ₦209.4 bn in a public offer (July 2024) and US$105 m on the LSE (July 2025); on 29 August 2025 ₦365.85 bn was injected into GTBank, taking share capital to ₦504.0 bn — above the requirement.
Compliance context: the FCA fined GTBank UK £525,000 (8 August 2013; AML systems 2008–2010) and £7,671,800 (10 January 2023; AML systems and controls failings, October 2014 – July 2019). The bank operated under voluntary restrictions in 2018–2021, lifted after an independent review. Group penalties for FY2024 totalled ₦1.6 bn per the audited financial statements: Nigeria ₦383.6 m (FX examination, consumer protection), Ghana ₦1.2 bn (FX-market guidelines), according to published reports.
Source of wealth
The core clientele is entrepreneurs and trading families, oil & gas and telecom executives, professionals and the large Nigerian diaspora. Standard source of funds checks apply.
Who it serves
High-net-worth clients in Nigeria and Africa, family offices and the diaspora (the Non-Resident Nigerian service offers remote account opening in NGN, USD and EUR via the CBN/NIBSS NRBVN framework). GTBank UK runs Premium Banking for HNWIs and family offices from Sub-Saharan Africa.
Services
Current, fixed-deposit and domiciliary accounts, credit facilities, World MasterCard; exclusive lounges, international funds settlement, safe custody and an international concierge. The group wealth stack comprises GTFM mutual funds (including a Dollar Fund) and GTPM pensions; GTBank UK adds partner-provided estate and trust planning and philanthropy advice. There is no public discretionary portfolio management (DPM) offering — mutual funds rather than discretionary PB mandates.
Entities
| Jurisdiction | Legal entity | Form and supervision | Role |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nigeria | Guaranty Trust Bank Ltd | international commercial bank, CBN; NDIC-insured | core group bank, Private Banking |
| United Kingdom | Guaranty Trust Bank (UK) Ltd | bank, PRA/FCA; FSCS | Premium Banking for Sub-Saharan African HNW |
| 9 African markets | banking subsidiaries (Ghana, Gambia, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Côte d'Ivoire, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania) | local banking licences | regional footprint |
| Nigeria | GTFM / GTPM / HabariPay | funds / pensions / payments | group non-bank wealth stack |
Strengths
- Nigeria's most valuable banking group by market capitalisation. FY2025: PBT ₦1.23 tn, total assets ₦17.76 tn (+20 %), deposits ₦12.87 tn, record dividend of ₦12.76 per share. FY2024: PBT ₦1,266.2 bn (+107.8 %) — the first Nigerian financial institution to cross ₦1 tn in pre-tax profit. The Banker Top 1000 2026 — "Best Overall Performing Bank in Nigeria".
- Dual NGX + LSE listing (2025) and a transparent GTCO holding structure.
- Group wealth scale: GTFM AUM ₦1.32 tn (FY2025, +102 % YoY), GTPM ₦151 bn; PB-specific AUM and client counts are not disclosed.
- UK-licensed since 2008, with a dedicated diaspora channel.
Where it falls short
- No published entry threshold or transparent Private Banking fee schedule.
- No discretionary portfolio management — funds only.
- Nigerian jurisdiction specifics: FX controls and naira volatility.
- A history of FCA AML fines against the UK subsidiary (2013, 2023).
- The head of the private-banking unit is not publicly disclosed.
GTBank Private Banking is above all a gateway into Nigeria's largest banking group with a UK arm: a strong fit for clients whose lives and capital are tied to Nigeria and West Africa, and a less obvious one for those seeking classic discretionary mandates or a Swiss-style private-banking model.
Q/A
Is there a minimum entry amount for GTBank Private Banking?
The bank publishes no official threshold. The "US$50,000+" figure circulating online is not confirmed by primary sources.
How are deposits protected?
In Nigeria, NDIC covers up to ₦5,000,000 per depositor per bank (since May 2024). In the UK, FSCS protection applies — £120,000 from 1 December 2025.
Does GTBank hold a UK banking licence?
Yes — Guaranty Trust Bank (UK) Ltd has been licensed since 12 March 2008 and is regulated by the PRA and FCA; it runs Premium Banking for African HNWIs and family offices.
Does GTBank offer discretionary portfolio management?
No public DPM offering exists; investments are routed through GTFM mutual funds (including a Dollar Fund) and GTPM pensions instead of discretionary mandates.
Is GTBank suitable for the Nigerian diaspora?
Yes — the Non-Resident Nigerian service allows remote account opening in NGN, USD and EUR via the CBN/NIBSS NRBVN framework.