A self-certification is a client's statement of its own tax status, which a bank, broker, fund or trust company must obtain when an account is opened. An individual states the countries of which they are a citizen and a tax resident. A company, trust or foundation also states its classification — financial institution, active or passive non-financial entity — and, if it is passive, who controls it. On the strength of that form the institution decides whom to report under CRS and to which country, whom to treat as a US person under FATCA, and whether US tax has to be withheld.
The form looks like paperwork, yet it drives the entire machinery of automatic exchange. An error in it is rarely caught on the day the account opens. It surfaces a year or two later: when the answers are reconciled with KYC data, when a tax authority asks a question, when the client moves to another bank, or when the first US payment arrives with 30% already withheld.
Concept
Automatic exchange of tax information rests on one idea: a financial institution knows its client better than any tax authority, so the law makes it the source of account data. To report, the institution has to establish two things: where the client pays tax, and whether the client has a link to the United States. A bank cannot check this independently across the world and is not required to. The standard therefore puts the declaration on the client and puts on the institution a duty to obtain it and test it for reasonableness.
There are two regimes, and they ask different questions. FATCA is a US statute that asks about US person status: a US citizen, a US tax resident (a green card holder or someone who meets the substantial presence test), a US company or trust. Place of residence is irrelevant: a US citizen who has lived in Zurich all their life remains a US person for FATCA. CRS is a multilateral OECD standard that asks only about tax residence. Citizenship is irrelevant to CRS; on the other hand, one person can hold two or three residences, and a report will go to each of those countries.
Three features follow, and they shape the whole practice of self-certification.
- The client declares the status; the institution is responsible for testing it. A bank may rely on the form unless it knows, or has reason to know, that it is wrong. The test runs against information the bank already holds: KYC documents, addresses, telephone numbers, payment instructions.
- The same structure can hold different statuses in the two regimes. An investment company managed by a bank can be a financial institution under CRS and still need a separate FATCA registration; a company from outside CRS can be a Passive NFE for CRS and a financial institution for FATCA.
- The form is no longer an internal bank document. From 2026, in the EU and the UK, a separate indicator travels in the international exchange: whether a valid self-certification was obtained. Its absence is visible to the tax authority of the country of residence.
For the client, the consequence is simple: completing the form is a legal position on one's own status, signed under liability. For the licensed institution, it is the central control point by which supervisors and external auditors judge the whole due diligence procedure.
How self-certification works at onboarding
Take a typical path: a family opens an account with a European private bank for a Cypriot holding company, and the bank operates under both CRS and FATCA.
- The form at opening. The bank issues its own entity self-certification (for CRS) and asks for a W-8BEN-E (for FATCA), or uses a single form that covers both regimes. The company states its country of tax residence, TIN and classification.
- Reconciliation with KYC. Compliance compares the answers with the constitutional documents, registry extracts, ownership chart and business description gathered during corporate KYC. A holding company that, on the documents, lives on dividends but describes itself as an Active NFE stops here.
- Controlling persons. If the company is a Passive NFE, the bank identifies its controlling persons from AML/KYC data and obtains a self-certification from each of them, or from the company in respect of each of them.
- Account classification. The bank then classes the account as reportable or non-reportable for each country and decides separately whether a FATCA report on US owners is needed.
- Life of the account. Any change — a beneficiary moving country, a new shareholder, a change of trustee, a company moving from trading to passive holding — makes the form unreliable and calls for a new one.
- Annual report. The bank reports to its own tax authority, which passes the data to the countries of residence of the clients and controlling persons.
The standard requires the form to be obtained when the account is opened. HMRC's guidance accepts that obtaining it on day one is not always possible and allows collection afterwards: the form must be obtained and validated within 90 days of the institution becoming aware that a new account exists. If no valid self-certification has been obtained within 90 days, the account is reportable until one is obtained. This is the UK rule; elsewhere, collection after opening is governed by national law and supervisory practice, and many banks simply will not open an account without the form.
FATCA and CRS: two different questions
Most confusion at onboarding comes from assuming that one answer covers both regimes. The table shows where they part ways.
| Parameter | FATCA | CRS |
|---|---|---|
| What is established | US person status and the US owners of a structure | Every country of tax residence of the client and its controlling persons |
| Forms | IRS: W-9, W-8BEN, W-8BEN-E and others; in IGA countries, local forms as well | The institution's own form; there is no single form |
| Where data goes | To the IRS directly (Model 2 IGA) or via the local tax authority (Model 1 IGA) | To the tax authority of the institution's country, then to the countries of residence |
| Ownership threshold | Substantial U.S. owner — more than 10%; in IGA jurisdictions, controlling persons | Controlling persons under the FATF standard |
| Sanction for missing documentation | 30% withholding on US payments | Reporting on available indicia of residence; penalties under national law |
The last row explains why FATCA forms are completed even where there are no American clients. For FATCA, a non-US person receiving US income through an intermediary documents its foreign status on a Form W-8; without one, the agent may have to withhold tax at 30% or at the backup withholding rate. For CRS, a missing form triggers no withholding, but it makes the account reportable on the basis of indirect indicia of residence.
IRS forms
The W-series forms are certificates for a US withholding agent. The agent relies on them to decide whether to withhold under chapter 3 of the US Internal Revenue Code (ordinary withholding on non-residents' income) and under chapter 4 (FATCA). A non-US bank asks for them for one of two reasons: it acts as an intermediary for US securities itself, or it uses the W-8 as a ready-made document for the client's FATCA classification.
W-9: for US persons
Form W-9 (current revision March 2024) is given by a US person: a US citizen or resident, a US company or partnership, a domestic trust. The signatory certifies the correctness of the TIN (SSN or EIN), backup withholding status and that they are a US citizen or other US person. The 2024 revision added line 3b, on which a flow-through entity indicates whether it has foreign partners, owners or beneficiaries. Line 4 carries exemption codes, including codes for exemption from FATCA reporting (A–M).
For a non-US bank, a W-9 from an individual generally means the account is a US reportable account and its data will go to the IRS. The form itself sets out the penalties: $50 for each failure to furnish a correct TIN, $500 for a false statement with no reasonable basis that results in no backup withholding (24%), and criminal penalties for wilful falsification.
W-8BEN: individuals who are not US persons
W-8BEN (revision October 2021) certifies that an individual is the beneficial owner of the income and is not a US person. The form is short, but every line matters:
| Line | Content | Common mistakes |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | Country of citizenship | A second, US citizenship is left out altogether, although it requires a W-9 instead |
| 3 | Permanent residence address; a P.O. box or in-care-of address is not allowed | The address of a management company or office is given |
| 5 | US TIN (SSN/ITIN), if required | — |
| 6a / 6b | Foreign TIN, or a box confirming it is not legally required | Left blank without explanation |
| 8 | Date of birth | — |
| 9–10 | Treaty benefit claim, rate and article | A treaty is claimed for a country where the person is not resident |
The form is signed under penalties of perjury, and the signatory undertakes to submit a new form within 30 days if any certification becomes incorrect. An individual authorised to sign for the beneficial owner may sign. US indicia — a US address, a US telephone number as the only number, an unambiguous US place of birth — give the agent reason to doubt a W-8BEN. For a US place of birth, the instructions for the requester require documentary evidence of citizenship of another country together with either a copy of the Certificate of Loss of Nationality or a reasonable written explanation of the renunciation of citizenship or of why citizenship was not obtained at birth.
W-8BEN-E: entities and two statuses
W-8BEN-E (revision October 2021, with instructions of the same date) is the most complex form in the series, with some thirty parts. Its logic is that the entity reports two independent statuses.
Chapter 3 status (line 4) is the tax classification under US rules; the law of the country of incorporation does not decide it. The options are corporation, partnership, simple trust, complex trust, grantor trust, estate, disregarded entity, tax-exempt organisation, private foundation, government entities, central bank of issue and international organisation.
Chapter 4 status (line 5) is the FATCA classification. The entity chooses one of roughly thirty categories and completes the corresponding part of the form. The main ones are:
| FATCA status | Typical holder | GIIN |
|---|---|---|
| Participating FFI | A financial institution that has entered into an FFI agreement with the IRS, usually in a country without an IGA | Yes |
| Reporting Model 1 FFI | A bank, broker, manager or fund in a Model 1 IGA country; reports to its own tax authority | Yes |
| Reporting Model 2 FFI | A financial institution in a Model 2 IGA country; reports directly to the IRS | Yes |
| Registered deemed-compliant FFI, including sponsored FFI (Part IV) | Funds and investment companies whose obligations are performed by a sponsor | Yes |
| Owner-documented FFI (Part X) | A small investment company that discloses its owners to a designated withholding agent | No |
| Nonreporting IGA FFI (Part XII) | Categories exempted by a particular IGA, such as a trustee-documented trust | Depends on the category; a trustee-documented trust uses the trustee's GIIN |
| Active NFFE (Part XXV) | A trading company | No |
| Passive NFFE (Part XXVI) + Part XXIX | A passive holding company, personal company, trust without professional management | No |
| Excepted NFFE (Parts XVIII–XXIV) | Holding company of a non-financial group, start-up, entity in liquidation, non-profit, publicly traded company | No |
| Nonparticipating FFI | A financial institution that does not comply with FATCA | No; 30% is withheld from payments |
Two categories raise the most questions. On the form, Active NFFE requires two conditions at once: less than 50% of gross income for the preceding calendar year is passive income, and less than 50% of assets produce or are held for the production of passive income. A Passive NFFE must either certify that it has no substantial U.S. owners or name each of them in Part XXIX with address and TIN. A substantial U.S. owner is a specified U.S. person owning, directly or indirectly, more than 10% of the stock by vote or value (for a partnership, more than 10% of profits or capital interests). A Passive NFFE resident in a Model 1 or Model 2 IGA country that gives the form to a reporting Model 1 or Model 2 FFI may instead disclose its controlling U.S. persons — under FATF criteria, as in CRS.
This produces an important divergence from CRS. In the Passive NFFE certification the entity confirms that it is not a financial institution (the only exception is an investment entity organised in a US possession). A professionally managed investment company therefore remains a financial institution for FATCA wherever it is, and it cannot fall back into Passive NFFE status in the way CRS allows for non-participating jurisdictions. It needs its own FATCA status: registered, sponsored, owner-documented or trustee-documented.
GIIN
The Global Intermediary Identification Number is assigned by the IRS on registration through the FATCA Registration Website. Under the instructions, a GIIN is entered by participating FFIs, registered deemed-compliant FFIs (including sponsored FFIs), reporting Model 1 and Model 2 FFIs, direct reporting NFFEs, the trustee of a trustee-documented trust and sponsored direct reporting NFFEs. An entity that is still registering may write "applied for", but the person requesting the form must obtain and verify the GIIN against the published IRS list within 90 days. If no GIIN appears, the form becomes invalid for chapter 4 purposes from the 90th day.
Other W-8 forms
| Form | Revision | Who files it |
|---|---|---|
| W-8IMY | October 2021 | Intermediaries and flow-through entities: a foreign partnership, simple trust or grantor trust; a withholding statement and the owners' documentation are attached |
| W-8ECI | October 2021 | A foreign person whose income is effectively connected with a US trade or business |
| W-8EXP | October 2023 | Foreign governments, international organisations, central banks, tax-exempt organisations and private foundations |
The W-8IMY instructions define a flow-through entity as a foreign partnership, a foreign simple or grantor trust and, for treaty claims, any entity that is fiscally transparent in the interest holder's jurisdiction. A foreign grantor trust holding US securities therefore usually files a W-8IMY with the settlor's W-8BEN attached, whereas a discretionary complex trust files a W-8BEN-E on its own account.
Treaty claims, validity and signature
Part III of the W-8BEN-E is where a treaty benefit is claimed: the entity certifies residence in the treaty country, derivation of the income within the meaning of the treaty and satisfaction of the limitation on benefits test (publicly traded company, ownership and base erosion, derivative benefits, active trade or business and others) where the treaty has one. An intermediate holding company claiming a treaty rate without genuinely meeting the LOB test is a standard target for a US agent's questions.
The validity period of a W-8 is the same for both chapters: from the date of signature to the last day of the third succeeding calendar year, unless a change in circumstances makes the information incorrect. A form signed on 15 March 2026 is valid until 31 December 2029. Under certain conditions a form remains valid indefinitely while circumstances are unchanged. The entity must notify the agent of a change within 30 days. After a change, the agent may keep the previous FATCA status for no longer than 90 days or until new documentation is obtained, whichever is earlier.
A W-8BEN-E is signed by an authorised representative or officer with personal knowledge of the facts, who confirms the capacity to sign for the entity. An electronic signature is accepted if it meets the requirements of Regulations section 1.1441-1(e)(4)(i)(B).
CRS: self-certification by an individual
CRS prescribes no single form: each institution designs its own, but the data set is fixed. According to HMRC, an individual's form contains the name, residence address, every country of tax residence, a TIN for each reportable jurisdiction and the date of birth (not required for FATCA). The form may be on paper or electronic, but it must allow the bank to determine residence and establish whether the client is a US citizen.
The TIN is the most frequent weak spot. The requirement to provide one falls away in two cases: the country does not issue a TIN to that person, or its law does not require the TIN to be collected. A standard form, such as the Hong Kong tax authority's template, offers three explanation codes: the country does not issue TINs; the client was unable to obtain one (with a mandatory explanation); a TIN is not required. "I don't remember the number" fits none of them.
HMRC frames the reasonableness test through the standard of a reasonably prudent person: if such a person in the bank's position would question the information, the bank has reason to treat the form as unreliable. No legal analysis of tax status is needed; the bank compares the form with what it already knows, including what the relationship manager knows. Typical contradictions: the client declares UAE residence, while every statement and the card delivery address are in Germany; the form names one country while payment orders regularly go to an account in another. The inconsistency is cured by a new form or by a reasonable explanation with documents — for example, a tax residence certificate.
After a change in circumstances, the bank may keep the previous status for no longer than 90 calendar days. If no confirmation or new form arrives in that time, the client is treated as resident both in the country on the old form and in the country indicated by the change. The report goes to both.
CRS: classifying an entity
For an entity, the form answers three questions: where it is resident, which category it belongs to and, if it is passive, who controls it. In substance there are three categories: financial institution, Active NFE and Passive NFE.
Financial Institution
Financial institutions are depository institutions (banks), custodial institutions (holding financial assets for others as a substantial part of the business), insurance companies with cash value products, and investment entities. For private structures, the Investment Entity category is what matters, and it has two limbs.
Under the first, the entity itself conducts as a business, for customers, trading in instruments, portfolio management or otherwise investing and managing money on behalf of others. Under the second, the entity is managed by a financial institution and its gross income is primarily attributable to investing and trading in financial assets. "Primarily" means at least 50% of gross income over the shorter of two periods: the three years ending on 31 December of the preceding year, or the period of the entity's existence. Management counts only with discretionary authority: if the bank or EAM merely advises and the owner-director takes the decisions, the "managed by" limb is not met.
HMRC states expressly that personal investment companies are most likely to be Investment Entities where they, or their assets, are managed by a financial institution. Such a company becomes a Reporting FI itself and reports on the holders of its equity.
A special rule applies to a managed investment company in a non-participating jurisdiction. The standard treats it as a Passive NFE: the bank holding the account looks through it and reports its controlling persons. On the Hong Kong template form this is a separate line under Passive NFE: an investment entity managed by another financial institution and located in a non-participating jurisdiction. The classic example is a US LLC with a portfolio under discretionary management: the United States is not on HMRC's list of participating jurisdictions, so for a UK bank such an LLC is a Passive NFE. For FATCA it is a US entity, and its documentation follows the US classification rules for the LLC itself.
Active NFE
An Active NFE is a trading non-financial business plus several special categories. The full list of criteria:
| Criterion | Condition | Typical mistake |
|---|---|---|
| Income and assets test | Less than 50% of gross income for the preceding year is passive income, and less than 50% of assets produce passive income | Only revenue is tested; the asset side is forgotten |
| Listed company | Shares regularly traded on an established securities market, or a related entity of such a company | — |
| Public bodies | Government entity, international organisation, central bank or a wholly owned subsidiary of one | — |
| Holding company of a non-financial group | Holds shares in subsidiaries carrying on a business other than a financial one; investment funds are excluded | A personal portfolio holding company presents itself as a "group holding company" |
| Start-up | Has no operating business yet and is investing in assets for a future non-financial business — first 24 months from formation | The status is claimed three years after incorporation |
| Liquidation or reorganisation | Not a financial institution in the past 5 years and liquidating its assets or reorganising | — |
| Treasury centre | Financing and hedging for a non-financial group | — |
| Non-profit organisation | Tax-exempt, established for religious, charitable, scientific or similar purposes | A private family foundation calls itself non-profit |
Every criterion except the income and assets test covers a narrow situation. For a private client the real choice is almost always between the 50/50 test and Passive NFE.
Passive NFE and controlling persons
Passive NFEs fall into two groups: any non-financial entity that meets none of the Active NFE criteria, and a managed investment company in a non-participating jurisdiction. For such a client the bank discloses the controlling persons. According to HMRC, the bank may establish Passive NFE status from a self-certification or from information it already holds or that is publicly available. The controlling persons are identified from AML/KYC data collected consistently with FATF Recommendations 10 and 25. A controlling person's residence, however, can be established only through a self-certification — from the entity or from the controlling person.
For a company, controlling persons are those holding a controlling ownership interest, those exercising control by other means and, if there are none, the senior managing official. These three roles match the hierarchy HMRC applies to role reporting: if a person has several roles in a company, the highest is reported — control by ownership, then control by other means, then senior managing official. For a trust, all roles are reported.
Trusts
The definition is the same in the FATCA agreements and in CRS: a trust's controlling persons are the settlor, the trustees, the protector (if any), the beneficiaries or class of beneficiaries and any other natural person exercising ultimate effective control. For other legal arrangements, persons in equivalent or similar positions are caught.
A trust's classification depends on who manages the assets. A trust is regarded as managed by a financial institution where at least one trustee is a financial institution or the trustees have appointed one, such as a discretionary fund manager. A trust with predominantly financial assets is then an Investment Entity and a Reporting FI. It reports on the holders of equity interests: the settlor and the beneficiaries — those entitled to a mandatory distribution or who received a discretionary payment — and any other person with ultimate effective control. Where the trustee is a professional trust company that is itself a Reporting FI, the standard permits the trustee-documented trust: the trust does not report itself, and the trustee reports for it. On the FATCA form such a trust chooses Nonreporting IGA FFI status and gives the trustee's GIIN.
A trust with individual trustees that holds real estate or a stake in a trading company is a Passive NFE. The bank holding such a trust's account discloses every controlling person in every role. The tax consequences of the structure itself are covered in the article on trust taxation.
What the amended CRS added
In 2023 the OECD updated the standard to reflect developments in financial markets; in the European Union the amendments were implemented by Council Directive (EU) 2023/2226 (DAC8) of 17 October 2023, which Member States had to transpose by 31 December 2025 and apply from 1 January 2026. For self-certification the new reporting elements are what matter:
| New field | What changes for the form |
|---|---|
| Whether a valid self-certification was obtained | Separately for the account holder and each controlling person; a missing form becomes visible to the tax authority of the country of residence |
| Role of the controlling person | Settlor, trustee, protector, beneficiary, owner, senior managing official are reported explicitly |
| Joint account and number of holders | The bank records every co-holder |
| New or pre-existing account; account type | Shows which due diligence rules documented the client |
| Specified Electronic Money Products and CBDCs | E-money and central bank digital currencies are brought into depository accounts |
In the UK, HMRC calls this version CRS2.0: the amendments were introduced by the International Tax Compliance (Amendment) Regulations 2025 and take effect from 1 January 2026, so calendar year 2026 is the first reportable period and the first CRS2.0 returns fall due in 2027, by 31 May following the reporting year. An account without a valid form is reported as "false" in the UK return — both where no form was ever obtained and where it became unreliable after a change in circumstances. Hong Kong gazetted its amended CRS bill on 22 May 2026 and proposes to apply it from 1 January 2028. Timelines for other jurisdictions and the link with the crypto standard are covered in the CRS overview and the article on CARF in practice.
Typical structures
Classification always depends on the facts: the mix of income and assets, whether there is a discretionary manager, the jurisdiction, the particular IGA. The table shows how typical structures usually come out.
| Structure | FATCA (W-8BEN-E) | CRS | Where it goes wrong |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal holding company: securities portfolio, owner takes decisions | Passive NFFE; disclosure of substantial U.S. owners or controlling U.S. persons | Passive NFE; controlling persons disclosed | The company calls itself an Active NFE or a "group holding company" |
| Personal investment company under a discretionary mandate of a bank or EAM | FFI: needs its own status (registered, sponsored, owner-documented) and usually a GIIN | Investment Entity, Reporting FI; in a non-participating jurisdiction, Passive NFE | The mandate is discretionary but the form says Passive NFE, or vice versa |
| Family office company providing services to the family | Active NFFE if income is service fees and passive assets are below 50% | Active NFE under the same test; if it manages others' assets as a business, possibly an Investment Entity | Management fees are mixed up with income from its own portfolio |
| Trust with a professional corporate trustee and predominantly financial assets | FFI; often a trustee-documented trust with the trustee's GIIN | Investment Entity; the trustee or the trust reports | The trustee is not registered; the trust's form gives its own GIIN or none at all |
| Trust with individual trustees holding real estate | Passive NFFE | Passive NFE; all roles disclosed | The protector or a "dormant" beneficiary is not disclosed |
| Investment fund run by a licensed manager | Reporting Model 1/2 FFI or sponsored FFI; GIIN | Investment Entity, Reporting FI | The fund's SPVs are not registered |
| Fund SPV holding a single financial asset (shares, a loan) | Usually an FFI managed by the fund manager; often sponsored | Investment Entity under the managed-by limb | The SPV claims to be a holding company of a non-financial group |
| Trading company | Active NFFE | Active NFE | A large cash balance or portfolio on the balance sheet breaks the assets test |
The licensed institution's perspective
For a bank, broker, manager or trust company, self-certification is one of the few procedures where an error is measured directly: a wrong status means a wrong report or wrong withholding. Supervisors and external auditors look at several things.
First, timeliness. The form is obtained at account opening or, where national rules allow later collection, within the set period. The UK's 90 days run from the moment the institution becomes aware of the new account, and after that the account is reportable until a valid form is obtained.
Second, the reasonableness test against KYC data. Compliance must be able to show what the form was checked against: addresses, identity documents, information on the structure, financial statements for the 50/50 test. An Active NFE declaration without financial statements, or at least a reasonable explanation of the income mix, is a weak point in any review.
Third, control of FATCA details: verifying the GIIN against the IRS list within 90 days, keeping W-8s current (expiry at the end of the third year), and checking that the chosen status is consistent with the rest of the form.
Fourth, monitoring changes in circumstances. A new address, telephone number or beneficiary, a change of trustee or protector, returned mail should all trigger a review of the form. After a change the bank has 90 days under the UK rule and 90 days under the US rules for FATCA status; after that come dual reporting under CRS and loss of the right to rely on the old FATCA status.
Fifth, the quality of the report. From 2026 the valid self-certification indicator and the roles of controlling persons travel in the exchange, so gaps in the file turn into markers visible to foreign tax authorities. A bank's procedures build this into the wider AML/KYC system: controlling persons for CRS are identified from the same beneficial ownership data used for anti-money laundering. UK-specific reporting to HMRC and the use of that data are covered separately in the article on CRS and FATCA in the UK.
The client's perspective
For an HNW individual, family or business, self-certification goes predictably when the status position is settled before the account is opened. A working set looks like this: a tax residence certificate for each country claimed; a TIN or a document explaining its absence; for a structure, the constitutional documents, register of members, latest financial statements (for the 50/50 test), the management agreement or mandate (for the managed-by question), the trust deed and a letter confirming the current trustees, protector and beneficiaries.
Onboarding breaks in predictable places. A client with two residences gives one, treating the other as a formality. A US citizen who has lived in Europe since childhood does not mention the citizenship — the place of birth in the passport gives it away at the first check, after which a W-9 is needed, most likely followed by questions about missed US returns (see banking for US citizens abroad). A personal company under an EAM files a Passive NFE form although, under its mandate, it is an Investment Entity and a Reporting FI in its own right. A trust discloses the trustees and beneficiaries but forgets the protector with a veto.
Errors and consequences
A wrong CRS classification means, first and foremost, a wrong report. If a personal holding company is wrongly described as an Active NFE, the bank does not disclose the controlling persons and their residence drops out of the exchange. When the error is found, the bank asks for a new form, corrects the reports and often reassesses the client's AML risk. If an Investment Entity wrongly describes itself as a Passive NFE, the result is double reporting or a gap, depending on who else believes it is responsible.
Under FATCA, the cost of an error is expressed in money. An entity without a valid W-8BEN-E, a financial institution without a FATCA status and GIIN, or a Passive NFFE that has not disclosed its US owners risks 30% withholding on US payments within FATCA's scope: section 1471 of the Internal Revenue Code provides for it expressly for foreign financial institutions, and section 1472 for non-financial entities that have not provided a certification of no substantial U.S. owners or those owners' details. The withheld tax can generally be recovered only by filing a US tax return, which is slow and costly for a non-US structure.
Liability for a false self-certification is set by national law and varies. In the UK, the person required to give the form — the account holder or a controlling person — may face a penalty of up to £300 for failing to provide a valid self-certification where the failure is deliberate or due to a failure to take reasonable care. In Hong Kong, knowingly or recklessly providing a statement that is misleading, false or incorrect in a material particular is an offence carrying a level 3 fine, that is HK$10,000. US forms are signed under penalties of perjury, and the W-9 provides for a $500 penalty for a false statement and criminal penalties for wilful falsification.
Expired forms are a separate trap. A W-8BEN-E expires at the end of the third year, and a bank that has not received a new one must treat the entity as undocumented. For FATCA that means withholding on US income; for CRS it means working from indicia of residence and, in the EU and the UK, a marker showing that no valid form is held.
Q/A
Individuals
I hold a non-US passport and am a Cypriot tax resident. Do I need a FATCA form?
If the client is neither a citizen nor a tax resident of the United States, the bank will ask for confirmation of that. A non-US bank usually builds the US person question into its CRS form and asks for a W-8BEN for dealings in US securities. The CRS form gives Cypriot residence and the Cypriot TIN. Citizenship is irrelevant to CRS.
I have two tax residences. Which should I state?
Both. CRS requires every country of tax residence with a TIN for each, and a report goes to each of them. If a double tax treaty resolves the question in favour of one country, that affects the tax, but the bank may report to both while the form names two countries.
I was born in the US but never took up citizenship. What will the bank ask?
A US place of birth is a US indicium, so the bank cannot simply accept a W-8BEN. It needs documentary evidence of citizenship of another country and, in addition, a copy of the Certificate of Loss of Nationality or a reasonable written explanation of the renunciation of citizenship or of why it was not obtained at birth. Without it the bank will treat the client as a possible US person.
My country of residence has not issued me a TIN. Is that a problem?
No, if that is true. The TIN requirement falls away where the country does not issue one or does not require it to be collected. The form offers the relevant explanation. If a TIN is issued but could not be obtained, a separate explanation is written, and the bank will assess its reasonableness.
Structures
My company holds a portfolio with the bank. The bank asks whether it is Active or Passive. What is the answer?
When the company's income consists of dividends, interest and capital gains and its assets are securities, the 50/50 test is failed: for CRS it is a Passive NFE, for FATCA a Passive NFFE. If the bank or an EAM manages the portfolio under a discretionary mandate and financial income is at least 50% of gross income, the company is already an Investment Entity for CRS and a financial institution for FATCA. The discretionary mandate decides the matter.
Does a trust need its own GIIN?
It depends on the trustee. If the trustee is a registered professional trust company, the trust can be a trustee-documented trust: on the W-8BEN-E it chooses Nonreporting IGA FFI status and gives the trustee's GIIN. If the trustees are individuals and the assets are real estate or a stake in a trading company, the trust is more often a Passive NFFE and needs no GIIN, but its controlling persons must be disclosed.
How long is a W-8BEN-E valid?
Until the last day of the third calendar year after the year of signature, if nothing changes. On a change in circumstances the entity must inform the bank within 30 days and submit a new form. A bank that learns of a change may keep the previous FATCA status for no longer than 90 days.
The bank asks for a new form every year. Is that lawful?
The bank must keep its documentation current and respond to changes in circumstances, and from 2026 in the EU and the UK it reports whether it holds a valid form. How often it asks for annual confirmation is the individual bank's policy, but that policy flows from an obligation the bank owes to its own supervisor.