Wiki / Tax & investments / Private Investor Infrastructure: A Map of Platforms for Family Offices

Tax & investmentsAsset custody

Private Investor Infrastructure: A Map of Platforms for Family Offices

the essentials on one page
share
LinkedIne-mail
mdmcp

The family office has long outgrown a safe full of contracts and transformed into a set of specialized platforms. Through some, you enter Blackstone and KKR funds well below the institutional threshold; through others, you buy a stake in SpaceX long before IPO; a third group manages cap tables and assembles SPVs for club deals; a fourth holds crypto assets under banking licenses. Each platform is a choice of counterparty, jurisdiction, and disclosure regime, and understanding it requires the same diligence as analyzing a holding structure.

Below is a map of six categories with a breakdown of key platforms in each, and each category carries the same three-axis table — counterparty, jurisdiction, disclosure — with access and cost alongside. Categories 1 and 3 carry a second table as well, because there the decision turns on price, liquidity and timing rather than on who the counterparty is. The goal is simple: show how the market works and what to look for before entrusting a platform with money or data. For a family building a family office, this is part of the same architecture as legal entities, trusts, and accounts.

Six Categories of the "Gentleman's Set"

1. Access to Private Markets

Feeder platforms pool capital from several private investors into a single structure and use it to enter PE, VC, or private credit funds—below the institutional minimum of tens of millions. Moonfare provides access to funds with a threshold its own FAQ puts at €50,000 for portfolio funds and €100,000 for classic feeder funds, both depending on where the investor is located; its secondary fund starts at €25,000. Access is stated for professional and semi-professional categories rather than the general retail public. iCapital operates as a B2B "pipeline": managers connect clients to alternatives without building infrastructure from scratch. The investor buys a share in a feeder fund, which itself acts as an LP in the fund, so the fund's fees stack with the platform's fees, and information rights and exit terms are determined by the feeder agreement.

One thing to keep in mind about iCapital: a private investor never opens an account there. The platform sells infrastructure to banks, brokerage houses and independent advisers, and the family sees it only as the alternatives "menu" its manager presents. How that machinery is assembled — feeder funds, subscription, capital calls, reporting and the fees that sit on top of the fund's own — follows the logic of any feeder fund.

PlatformCounterparty: who holds the assetJurisdiction and regimeDisclosureMinimum and fee stackWho is eligible
MoonfareAn interest in a Luxembourg feeder fund, which is itself the LP in the target fundLuxembourg fund vehicles; Moonfare Financial Services GmbH under BaFin since May 2026The feeder agreement sets information, valuation and exit rights; there is no offering circular€50,000 for portfolio funds, €100,000 for classic feeders, €25,000 for the secondaries fund; platform fee of roughly 0.25–1% a year on top of the fund's ownProfessional and semi-professional categories rather than the general retail public
iCapitalAn interest in an iCapital feeder; the distributing bank or adviser stands between the family and the platformUS and offshore feeder structuresWhatever the distributor passes on — the investor never contracts with the platform directlyNo walk-in entry; the minimum is whatever the distributor setsClients of banks, brokerage houses and independent advisers only
Arta FinanceFeeder interests, with custody at BNY PershingSEC-registered adviser in the US; Arta Wealth Management Pte under a MAS capital-markets services licenceManager fees disclosed to members inside the platform; SIPC up to $500,000 in the US loopFrom $10,000 into private-market feeders at 0.6–1.0% of AUM on top of fund fees; $100,000 expected by the end of the first year of membershipAccredited investors in the US and, through Singapore, in supported countries under the MAS tests
Endowus Private WealthFund units held through the platform's Singapore and Hong Kong entitiesMAS and SFC licencesFee-only model with trailer-fee rebates disclosedFrom US$50,000 on alternatives at 0.40–0.60% a yearAccredited investors in Singapore and Hong Kong
TitanbayAn interest in a fund or feeder that Titanbay structures and runs for the asset manager; the wealth manager stands between the family and the platformTitanbay Ireland Limited, authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland as an alternative investment fund manager; Luxembourg structures such as an SCSp-RAIF, master, feeder and ELTIF formats, and the UK LTAFWhatever the wealth manager passes on; the investor does not contract with the platform directlyNot published; set by the wealth manager's programmeClients of the wealth managers and private banks that use the platform
ADDXSecurity tokens representing interests in private-equity, hedge-fund and structured-product offerings, held in custody by ADDX itselfADDX Pte. Ltd., Singapore; a capital markets services licensee of MAS for dealing in capital markets products and providing custodial servicesDocuments per offering; trading rules and OTC rules published for the platform's own secondary marketFrom US$1,000 on most offerings; a one-time subscription fee and no annual platform fee, while the underlying funds charge their own management and performance feesAccredited investors, with status confirmed at onboarding

Counterparty and disclosure explain what is owned. The decision to write the cheque is made on four other numbers — the wrapper the money enters, the ticket, the charge on top of the fund's own, and what liquidity exists before the fund ends.

PlatformWrapper the money entersMinimumCharge on top of the fund's own feesLiquidity before the fund endsWhere onboarding is open
MoonfareLuxembourg feeder fund; part of the EU range packaged as an ELTIF€50,000 portfolio fund, €100,000 single feeder, €25,000 secondaries fund, ≈$60,000 Growth Equity Portfolio; ≈$75,000 in the US and £50,000 in the UKSetup 0–1% plus ≈0.25–1% a year depending on the productSecondary windows about twice a year with Lexington Partners as the buyer; neither price nor completion guaranteed; newer semi-liquid formats have more frequent windowsLicensed in more than 20 countries: Moonfare Securities USA, LLC as a broker-dealer in the US, Moonfare Financial Services GmbH under BaFin in the EU since 26 May 2026, qualified investors under CISA in Switzerland
iCapitalUS and offshore feeder funds sold through a bank, brokerage house or adviserWhatever the distributor sets; there is no walk-in entryPassed through by the distributor, which also sets its own layerSet by the feeder documents the distributor presentsNowhere directly: the family reaches the menu only through an existing manager
Arta FinanceFeeder interests with custody at BNY PershingFrom $10,000 into private-market feeders; $100,000 expected by the end of the first year of membership0.6–1.0% of assets a year on top of fund feesSet by each feeder; the platform adds no redemption promiseAccredited investors in the US and, through the Singapore entity's MAS licence, in supported countries — a status test rather than a residence test
Endowus Private WealthFund units held through the Singapore and Hong Kong entitiesFrom US$50,000 on alternatives0.40–0.60% a year, fee-only, with trailer-fee rebates disclosedSet by each fund's own termsAccredited investors resident in Singapore and Hong Kong
Trade RepublicEvergreen ELTIF: Apollo Private Markets ELTIF and EQT Nexus€1Nothing separate for the platform; ongoing charges sit in the fund at ≈2.35% (EQT Nexus) and ≈2.8% (Apollo) a year plus a performance feeQuarterly redemption at fund level, which may be capped, plus a monthly internal marketplace the platform runs on topResidents of the 18 European markets served; US persons are not accepted
FartherNo platform wrapper: private markets are bought through Farther Asset Management inside an advisory relationship, with custody at Fidelity, Schwab, Pershing or ApexNo hard minimum; the historical benchmark is $100,000 a householdThe advisory fee is negotiated within a 2% cap, the wrap programme runs 0.35–2.00%, and private-market and third-party fund fees are charged on topSet by each fund; the adviser adds noneBuilt around US custody and US tax documentation; cross-border cases are confirmed with the firm before assets move
Compound PlanningNo platform wrapper: an advised allocation inside the client's own account at Charles Schwab or Fidelity, with the adviser holding trading authority onlyA formal $25,000 minimum0.2–2.0% a year plus 0.25% for the in-house turnkey wrapper; tax filing billed separatelySet by each fundUS persons with US accounts and US tax residency; there is no public onboarding for non-residents

Three legal shapes sit behind those seven rows. A feeder gives an interest in someone else's Luxembourg or Delaware vehicle, which is itself the limited partner in the fund, so information, valuation and exit rights are whatever the feeder agreement says. An ELTIF is a regulated retail product with its own prospectus, key information document and redemption rules. The advised allocation has no platform wrapper at all: the client owns the fund, the adviser only has authority to trade, and the platform's economics are an advisory fee rather than a feeder margin.

The ticket has stopped being the barrier. €1 at Trade Republic and €100,000 at Moonfare buy exposure to the same asset class, and the gap is a wrapper effect rather than generosity: ELTIF 2.0, applying since 10 January 2024, removed the €10,000 entry minimum and the 10% cap on a retail investor's aggregate exposure, leaving the MiFID II suitability assessment as the only filter, while a classic feeder still needs professional or semi-professional status. What the low ticket buys is a multi-manager fund whose ongoing charges of ≈2.35–2.8% a year plus a performance fee dwarf the 0.25–1% a platform adds on top of a single manager.

Liquidity separates the wrappers more sharply than fees do. A classic feeder is illiquid for the life of the fund — ten years and more — and Moonfare's twice-yearly windows with Lexington Partners on the other side create a possible route out, not a right to sell at a date or a price. An evergreen ELTIF redeems quarterly and Trade Republic adds a monthly marketplace, but redemption gates can cap volumes, and a monthly window is not a promise of redemption at net asset value.

Residency and status decide before money does. Compound Planning and Farther work inside US custody and US tax documentation; Endowus needs residence in Singapore or Hong Kong; Trade Republic needs residence in one of its 18 markets and excludes US persons outright. Arta is the exception, because its Singapore licence turns accreditation rather than residence into the test. iCapital is not a route at all for a family without an existing bank or adviser.

The two non-US rows added to the first table follow the same split. Titanbay is the European counterpart to iCapital: an Irish-authorised fund manager that builds Luxembourg and UK vehicles for asset managers and sells them through wealth managers, so a family reaches it only through its private bank. ADDX is the Singapore counterpart to Arta with a lower ticket: from US$1,000, with interests issued as security tokens and a secondary market run by the platform itself, but only for accredited investors.

ProfileThe routeWhat it costs and what to check
EU resident without professional status, small ticketAn evergreen ELTIF through Trade Republic, or Moonfare's ELTIF share of the rangeTotal ongoing charges plus the performance fee; the redemption gate and the valuation rules, not the €1 headline
EU professional or semi-professional buying named managersA Moonfare single-fund feeder at €100,000 a nameSetup 0–1% and ≈0.25–0.75% a year on top of the fund's own terms; a ten-year lock with windows twice a year
Accredited investor outside the US and the EUArta Finance through its Singapore licence, or Endowus Private Wealth if resident in Singapore or Hong KongFrom $10,000 and US$50,000 respectively at 0.40–1.0% a year; confirm which group entity contracts
US person already working with an adviserFarther or Compound PlanningA negotiated advisory fee plus the funds' own; the shelf belongs to the adviser, so ask which feeders it can actually reach
Family whose private bank or adviser is already in placeThe iCapital menu through that distributorThe minimum and the fee are the distributor's; there is no direct contract with the platform to negotiate

On €200,000 the two European routes diverge sharply. Split across two Moonfare single-fund feeders at €100,000 a name, the platform layer costs up to €2,000 of setup and €500–€1,500 a year, so roughly €5,000–€17,000 over a ten-year life on top of the funds' own management fee and carried interest — and the money cannot be recalled except through a secondary window. The same €200,000 into an evergreen ELTIF at ≈2.35% of ongoing charges costs about €4,700 a year, near €47,000 over the same decade before any performance fee, and buys quarterly redemption plus a monthly marketplace. The cheap ticket is the expensive wrapper: the annual charge is what pays for retail access and for liquidity.

2. Secondary Market for Private Shares

Here, stakes in pre-IPO companies and employee options are traded while the company itself remains private. Hiive displays an order book with visible bids and asks; Forge Global (NYSE: FRGE) has assembled a full stack—data, valuation, and execution; Nasdaq Private Market, spun out in July 2021 into a standalone company with strategic investments from SVB, Citi, Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley, focuses on company-sponsored tenders—liquidity by invitation of the issuer itself. Legally, almost every transaction hinges on ROFR and company consent: shares are bound by transfer restrictions, and the stated "price" reflects the balance of supply and demand and diverges from the official business valuation.

PlatformCounterparty: who holds the assetJurisdiction and regimeDisclosureMinimum and fee stackWho is eligible
HiiveThe buyer takes the company's shares directly, subject to transfer restrictionsCanadian and US dealer registrationsA live order book with visible bids and asksSet listing by listingAccredited investors
Forge GlobalDirect transaction, a single-company fund or a multi-company fund; private securities can sit in a self-directed IRA through Forge TrustUS broker-dealer, part of Charles Schwab since the deal closed on 2 March 2026Forge Price is an indicative valuation and not an executable quoteAbout $100,000 for a direct secondary and from $5,000 in certain funds; Forge's own fee typically 2–4% on direct secondaries, plus transfer agent, legal and escrow costsAccredited investors
Nasdaq Private MarketShares bought inside a tender the issuer itself runsUS broker-dealer; a standalone company since July 2021The issuer controls the process, the price and what is disclosedSet by the tender termsWhoever the issuer invites

3. Cap Table, Funds, and SPVs

This category manages ownership records and assembles structures for co-investments. Carta is the standard for cap table and fund administration — in January 2024 its founder Henry Ward put those two businesses at about $250m and $100m a year — and in the same month it exited secondary trading. Ward's stated reason was structural: while Carta holds the data, clients will suspect it of trading on that data, so the company chose trust over a line then worth about $3m a year. AngelList and Sydecar handle syndicates and "club" deals; Sydecar promises fixed pricing and assembly without carry on administration. An SPV itself is a separate legal entity (usually a Delaware LLC) for a single transaction, and the cap table remains a register that reflects rights but does not replace corporate documents.

PlatformCounterparty: what is actually heldJurisdiction and regimeDisclosureCost structureWho is eligible
CartaA register of ownership: Carta keeps the record and owns nothingUS; cap table and fund administrationA cap-table extract and fund reporting, which reflect rights without replacing corporate documentsPriced per plan for the company or the fund, not for the investorCompanies and fund managers
AngelListAn interest in an SPV or a fund vehicle, not in the target companyUsually a Delaware LLC per dealSubscription documents and the vehicle's own reportingSet per syndicate; carry sits at the lead's levelAccredited investors joining a syndicate
SydecarAn interest in a deal-specific SPVDelawareFixed, published pricing per dealA fixed assembly price with no carry charged on administrationAccredited investors
bunchAn interest in the manager's own fund, SPV or club-deal vehicle; bunch runs the investor portal, transfer agency, fund accounting and reportingbunch technology GmbH, Berlin, HRB 235368 B; structures in Germany, the UK, the Netherlands and Luxembourg; tax work sits with the separate agora tax GmbHThe portal and reporting follow the vehicle's own documentsQuoted on request; no public price listInvestors admitted by the manager of each vehicle
OdinAn interest in a deal-specific SPV or a fund: a UK trust for S/EIS deals, a Delaware LP, or fund domiciles in the US, UK, Luxembourg, Singapore and offshoreJoin Odin Limited (FRN 962398), an appointed representative of Hurricane Capital UK Limited, which the FCA authorisesDeal documents per vehicle; promotions go only to investors who evidence exempt statusNot published on the siteInvestors eligible to receive exempt financial promotions under UK rules

The two European rows change the jurisdiction column. bunch sells fund operations to more than 150 managers across Germany, the UK, the Netherlands and Luxembourg and publishes no price, so it competes with Carta and Vauban on administration rather than with Sydecar on a per-deal fee. Odin is the closest UK analogue to AngelList and Sydecar: an SPV that can take investors within two hours of the deal being submitted, a UK trust for S/EIS relief and a choice of fund domiciles, with its FCA perimeter borrowed through an appointed-representative arrangement rather than held directly.

For a family assembling its own vehicle, the three axes settle who holds what. The choice between administrators is then made on four numbers the platforms themselves publish unevenly: the one-off cost, what recurs, how fast the vehicle opens, and which jurisdictions it can sit in.

AdministratorOne-off costRecurring costTime to launchVehicle jurisdictionsWhat the price does and does not include
AngelList≈$8,000 of setup for a single-deal SPV, ≈$5,000 for a follow-on into the same company, plus ≈$2,000 of blue-sky regulatory pass-through; setup and regulatory costs together are capped at 10% of the SPV sizeNone on an SPV. A fund pays an annual administration fee by tier plus a percentage of committed capital, fixed for years 1–10, historically ≈$10,000 a year plus 0.1% and ≈$20,000 a year plus 0.15%, now quoted on request, with a one-off implementation fee at first closeDaysDelaware LP or Series LLCIncludes formation, investor onboarding, capital calls, K-1s and an LP portal. Recommended minimum raise ≈$80,000, or ≈$50,000 for a follow-on; AngelList takes an extra 5% carry from LPs who arrive through its Meridian marketplace; a secondary purchase does not qualify for the standard platform-advised SPV
Sydecar2% of capital raised, banded between $2,500 and $12,500, plus a $2,000 regulatory fee — $4,500 to $14,500 in totalNo annual administration fee and no carry to the platformApproval in about one business dayDelaware LLC, offered under Reg D, usually 506(b)Includes formation, a dedicated bank account, KYC, KYB and AML, K-1 issuance and tax filings, Form D and blue-sky filings. Add-ons of $3,000 each for an investment in a non-US target, for an intermediate US pass-through entity and for each additional closing, plus $1,000 for the first distribution
Carta with VaubanQuoted per plan; not publishedQuoted per plan; not publishedNot publishedThe broadest shelf of the four: US, UK, BVI and Luxembourg since the 2022 Vauban acquisitionIncludes capital calls, investor reporting and tax forms, net asset value, KYC and AML, alongside cap table and SEC transfer-agent functions. The same provider then holds the target company's register, which is the conflict Carta resolved by leaving secondary trading in 2024
AllocationsThe base fee is not published; the published add-ons are +$4,000 per additional investment in a multi-asset SPV or fund, +$5,000 for a 506(c) fund, +$2,000 per additional close and +$2,000 for an adviserNot publishedNot stated as a period; the platform claims a close 3–10 times fasterUSIncludes formation, investor onboarding with end-to-end e-signature, cap table, Reg D and blue-sky filings, automated K-1s, fee calculations, exempt reporting adviser compliance and distributions

The two published price lists cross over at a raise of roughly $400,000. Below that the banded percentage wins: on a $150,000 club cheque Sydecar charges $3,000 of variable fee plus the $2,000 regulatory fee — $5,000 in total — against AngelList's ≈$10,000 of setup and pass-through, which barely moves with deal size. Above it the flat fee wins: on a $1m SPV Sydecar's variable part hits its $12,500 ceiling for $14,500 all in, while AngelList is still near $10,000. Anything Carta or Allocations quotes has to be compared against those two published numbers rather than against each other.

Carry is the second line, and it is not part of the administration fee. Sydecar takes none, which is the whole point of the model, and leads on the platform set their own — averaging around 12% against the market's typical 20%. AngelList takes none from the lead either, but adds 5% of carry on LPs it introduces through Meridian, so the economics depend on where the co-investors came from rather than on the fee schedule.

For a family outside the United States the decisive number is not the setup fee but the wrapper. A Delaware vehicle is tax-transparent, each participant receives a Schedule K-1 and inherits US-source income, and a foreign limited partner may face US filing and withholding consequences where the vehicle has effectively connected income. Sydecar's $3,000 line is priced against the shape of the deal — an investment in a non-US target, or a US pass-through entity coming in as an LP — and not against the investor's passport; a foreign LP still needs W-8 documentation and a withholding analysis without triggering that charge. The expensive part of the structure is the decision on a blocker or offshore feeder above the SPV, and it is taken per deal.

SituationThe administratorWhy
A one-off club cheque below ≈$400,000 into a US targetSydecarThe banded 2% stays under the flat setup fee, approval takes about a business day, and no carry leaves the deal
A one-off SPV above ≈$400,000AngelListA flat setup fee stops growing where a percentage keeps climbing to its cap
Regular deal flow, several vehicles a yearAn AngelList fund or Rolling FundOne annual administration fee replaces a dozen separate setups, and the economics become visible in one place
The vehicle has to sit outside the USCarta with VaubanThe only published multi-jurisdiction shelf among the four: UK, BVI and Luxembourg alongside Delaware
A secondary purchase rather than a primary roundA self-advised structure, administered rather than platform-advisedAngelList does not treat a secondary as a qualifying venture investment for its standard platform-advised SPV, so the manager supplies the adviser

4. Institutional-Grade Crypto Custody

Institutional custody of digital assets rests on licensing and technology—these are different pillars. The OCC conditionally approved the conversion of Anchorage Trust Company into Anchorage Digital Bank, National Association, on 13 January 2021, and for several years no comparable national trust charter went to a digital-asset firm; on 12 December 2025 the OCC conditionally approved five more — de novo charters for First National Digital Currency Bank and Ripple National Trust Bank, and conversions for BitGo Bank & Trust, Fidelity Digital Assets and Paxos Trust Company. Those approvals are preliminary and contingent on the OCC's pre-opening requirements.

Coinbase Prime offers custody and prime brokerage from a public company (NASDAQ: COIN), Kraken holds assets through a Wyoming SPDI banking license. Fireblocks began on the technology side — MPC storage deployed by exchanges and custodians themselves — but since August 2024 its affiliate Fireblocks Trust Company, LLC has held a New York limited purpose trust charter from the NYDFS, so the technology provider and the licensed custodian are separate entities inside one group.

For a manager, the key question is who qualifies as a qualified custodian under the Investment Advisers Act, and who is merely a technology provider.

ProviderCounterparty: who holds the keysJurisdiction and regimeDisclosureCost structureWho is eligible
Anchorage Digital Bank, National AssociationA bank holds the assets as custodianOCC national trust charter, conditionally approved on 13 January 2021Bank-grade reporting; the qualified-custodian question still has to be answered contract by contractInstitutional pricingInstitutions, funds and advisers
Coinbase PrimeCustody and prime brokerage inside a listed group (NASDAQ: COIN)USPublic-company disclosure alongside client statementsInstitutional pricingInstitutions
KrakenAssets held under a Wyoming SPDI banking licenceWyomingClient statementsInstitutional pricingInstitutions
FireblocksTwo different entities: the MPC technology provider, and Fireblocks Trust Company, LLC, which has held a New York limited-purpose trust charter from the NYDFS since August 2024New York for the trust entityRead the contract to see which of the two signs itInstitutional pricingExchanges, custodians and institutions
BitGo, Fidelity Digital Assets, Paxos, First National Digital Currency Bank, Ripple National Trust BankNational trust banks in the makingFive OCC approvals of 12 December 2025, conditional on pre-opening requirementsNot yet a settled picture: an approval is not an open bankInstitutional pricingInstitutions

5. Alternative Assets

Platforms in this category securitize what was previously illiquid: art, wine, collectible assets. Masterworks buys a painting by Banksy or Warhol, registers it to a separate LLC, and sells shares in that LLC through Reg A+—essentially a mini-IPO with an offering circular filed with the SEC; the stated minimum is $15,000 per offering (exceptions are granted case by case), holding horizon 3–10 years, limited liquidity through an internal secondary market. The investor owns a share in the company that owns the painting, while the manager controls the asset and timing of sale.

PlatformCounterparty: what the investor ownsJurisdiction and regimeDisclosureMinimum and liquidityWho is eligible
MasterworksShares in an LLC that owns the painting; the manager controls the asset and the timing of the saleA separate Delaware LLC per work, offered under Reg A+ with a filing at the SECA full offering circular — the deepest disclosure in this whole mapA stated minimum of $15,000 per offering, exceptions granted case by case; a 3–10 year horizon with limited liquidity through an internal secondary marketWider than accredited investors, within the terms of each Reg A+ offering
Yieldstreet, now Willow WealthDepending on the product: an interest in a private-placement vehicle, a short-term note, or shares of the registered Yieldstreet Alternative Income FundUS; Willow Asset Management LLC is an SEC-registered adviser, and brokerage runs through Atomic Brokerage LLC and Willow Wealth Markets LLCOffering documents per private placement; a prospectus for the registered fundNo minimum on the home page; the platform itself tells private-placement investors to plan for 5–7 yearsPrivate placements for accredited investors only
RallyShares in a series of RSE Collection, RSE Archive or RSE Innovation LLC, each series owning one collectibleUS; offering circulars filed with the SEC, sold through partner FINRA broker-dealersAn offering circular per seriesShares from about $50; resale on the in-app bid/ask market during weekday market hours after a holding period; no buying or selling feesAdults with a US Social Security number and an address in the contiguous US; international and business accounts by request
VinovestThe bottles themselves: title to specific wine and whisky, insured and stored in bonded warehouses, with delivery on requestUS platform; no security is issued, so no offering document stands behind the holdingA published tier table; no prospectus$2,000 minimum balance at 2.85% a year, falling to 2.25% from $250,000; sales coordinated at maturity after 4–10 yearsNot stated on the pricing page
KonviFractional co-ownership through a separate legal structure set up for each asset: watches, art, collectiblesAn Irish company registered with the Central Bank of Ireland as a Schedule 2 firm for anti-money-laundering purposes only, which Konvi itself says is not authorisation as an investment firmA key information document and legal documents per opportunity in the appFrom €250; money returns when the asset is sold, and no secondary market is describedAdults from selected countries

The five rows sit on a disclosure ladder. Masterworks and Rally file an offering circular for every object, Yieldstreet's registered fund has a prospectus while its private placements carry only their own documents, Konvi supplies a key information document without holding an investment-firm licence, and Vinovest issues nothing at all because the client owns the bottles. The ladder runs the other way on control: at Vinovest the client can take delivery, while in every share-based structure the manager decides when the object is sold.

6. Brokerage and Digital Wealth

The first five categories answer where alternative assets are bought. The sixth answers where the liquid portfolio sits and who manages it — and it is the category a family office actually uses every day. Two different animals live here. A broker gives execution and custody and leaves the decisions to the client; a digital wealth platform sells advice, portfolio construction and reporting on top of somebody else's custody. The legal difference shows up the moment something fails: a broker is covered by an investor-compensation scheme, while an adviser holds no client assets at all and the protection belongs to the custodian.

The axis that decides the shortlist is not fee but eligibility. Compound Planning is closed to anyone without a US address and taxpayer number, Endowus to anyone outside Singapore and Hong Kong, and Trade Republic to anyone outside the EU markets it serves. Arta is the outlier: its Singapore licence turns accreditation, not residence, into the test, which is why it appears in both the private-markets category and this one. The broker layer is the only one that is genuinely global, and there the filter moves to which group entity a given country of residence is routed into — set out entity by entity in international brokerage.

PlatformCounterparty: who holds the assetsJurisdiction and protectionDisclosure and reportingMinimum and fee stackWho is eligible
International brokerage: IBKR, Saxo, SwissquoteThe contracting group entity holds the account and the custody chainSet by that entity: SIPC $500,000 in the US, FSCS £85,000 in the UK, the Irish ICS at €20,000, the Danish Garantiformuen at €100,000 on cash and €20,000 on securities, segregation under Swiss lawStatements plus CRS and FATCA reporting; W-8BEN and Form 1042-S on US incomeNo account minimum at IBKR, commissions from $0.0005 a share on the tiered plan and no custody fee; Saxo charges annual custody of 0.12%, or 0.08% at VIPBy country of residence, entity by entity
Trade RepublicA licensed bank: cash in an omnibus trust account at partner banks, securities in custodyGerman bank under BaFin; the deposit guarantee scheme of the respective partner bank up to €100,000 per customerStandard bank and broker reportingRetail entry points; the range is built on UCITS and ETFs that carry a key information documentResidents of the EU markets served
EndowusFund units through the Singapore and Hong Kong entitiesMAS and SFC licencesFee-only with trailer-fee rebates disclosedPrivate Wealth from US$50,000 at 0.40–0.60% a year; CPF and SRS monies supportedResidents of Singapore and Hong Kong; accredited status for the private-wealth shelf
Arta FinanceManaged portfolios, feeders and notes with custody at BNY PershingSEC-registered adviser in the US, MAS capital-markets services licence in Singapore; SIPC up to $500,000 in the US loopManager fees disclosed inside the platformCore portfolios from $25,000 at 0.5%, US Treasuries from $5,000 at 0.2%, private markets from $10,000 at 0.6–1.0%; $100,000 expected by the end of year oneAccredited investors, including non-US through Singapore
FartherAn SEC-registered adviser holding no assets; custody sits with third partiesUSForm ADV and Form CRSRoughly $15bn under management as at May 2026; fees negotiated with the adviserUS clients
Compound PlanningAn SEC-registered adviser (CRD 171787) with trading authority only; accounts in the client's name at Charles Schwab and Fidelity, SIPC up to $500,000USForm ADV and Form CRS, including a "Yes" answer on disciplinary history in the Form CRS dated 26 March 2026A formal $25,000 minimum, 0.2–2.0% a year plus 0.25% for the in-house turnkey wrapper; tax filing billed separatelyUS persons with US accounts and tax residency; no public onboarding for non-residents

Which category answers which question

The questionThe categoryWhat decides the choice inside it
Entry into a named PE or VC fund below the institutional ticket1 — private marketsEligibility first, then the two layers of fees and the liquidity windows in the feeder agreement
A stake in a named pre-IPO company2 — the secondary marketWhether the deal can close at all: the right of first refusal and issuer consent, then price transparency
Assembling a club deal with other investors3 — SPVs and cap tableWhere the carry sits and what a non-US participant receives in reporting
Holding digital assets institutionally4 — crypto custodyWhich entity in the group is the licensed custodian and which is only the technology
Exposure to art or collectibles without owning the object5 — alternative assetsWho controls the sale and when, and whether the investor owns the object or shares in its holder
Where the liquid portfolio sits and who manages it6 — brokerage and digital wealthResidency and status, then which entity books the account and what protects it

How to Read a Platform: Counterparty, Jurisdiction, Disclosure

Any of these platforms can be analyzed along three axes. Counterparty: who actually owns the assets—a bank with a trust license, a broker, a technology provider, or an LLC for a single object. Jurisdiction: where the structure is registered and which law and bankruptcy regime it is subject to—Delaware, Wyoming, EU, or offshore, and what economic substance backs it. Disclosure: what reports and information rights the investor receives—from a full offering circular under Reg A+ to a sparse cap table extract. The answers to these three questions say more about a platform than its brand.

Regulation: Who Is Even Allowed

Access to most platforms depends on investor status. In the US, this is an accredited investor—individual income above $200,000 ($300,000 jointly with a spouse) in each of the two most recent years, or net worth above $1 million excluding the primary residence; for the most exclusive funds, the qualified purchaser threshold is added, at not less than $5 million in investments. In the EU, there is a division into professional and semi-professional investors, and the ELTIF 2.0 reform—Regulation (EU) 2023/606, applying from 10 January 2024—removed the ELTIF's own €10,000 minimum initial investment and the 10% cap on a retail investor's aggregate exposure, leaving the MiFID II suitability assessment as the filter. Custodians have their own filter: qualified custodian status under the Investment Advisers Act determines who may hold client assets—which is why federal and Wyoming licenses in crypto are so highly valued.

Packaged products sitting on the same client menu carry an admission filter of their own. A structured note reaches an EU retail investor only with a PRIIPs KID and after a MiFID II suitability check, and that check says nothing about the issuer's credit standing: what the KID actually discloses, how an autocall and a reverse convertible behave, and why liquidity here is promised without being guaranteed are set out in structured products and notes.

What Has Changed in the Last Couple of Years

The platform market is changing rapidly. Carta left secondary trading in January 2024 and focused on cap table and fund administration. Nasdaq Private Market has operated as an independent company since July 2021, with strategic investments from SVB, Citi, Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley. In crypto, December 2025 ended the single-charter picture: the OCC conditionally approved five national trust bank charters for digital-asset firms, subject to pre-opening conditions, and institutional custody ceased to be a one-bank story. In parallel, ELTIF 2.0 has applied in Europe since 10 January 2024. The overall vector is more access and simultaneously more regulation.

Q/A

What separates a broker from a digital wealth platform in the sixth category?

What happens to the assets. A broker holds the account and sits behind an investor-compensation scheme that depends on its entity — SIPC, FSCS, the Irish ICS, the Danish Garantiformuen. An adviser such as Farther or Compound Planning holds nothing: accounts stay in the client's name at a third-party custodian and the adviser has trading authority under the agreement, so the protection belongs to the custodian and the adviser's own failure does not move the account.

Why does the same platform appear in two categories?

Because the category describes the function, not the company. Arta Finance sells feeder access to private-market funds and, separately, managed portfolios, notes and custody through BNY Pershing — two different counterparty and disclosure positions inside one membership. Endowus splits the same way between its fund shelf and its private-wealth alternatives. Read the product, then the entity behind that product.

Which five facts should be established before comparing platform brands?

Identify the contractual counterparty, the entity that actually holds the asset, the governing jurisdiction and insolvency regime, the disclosure package and the complete fee stack. Separately confirm who controls a sale and which transfer or exit restrictions apply.

How can an investor tell what is actually owned through a feeder or SPV?

The subscription agreement, constitutional documents and ownership register answer that question, not the platform interface. The investor may own an interest in a feeder or SPV rather than the underlying fund or company, so information, voting, distribution and exit rights must be read in those documents.

Does a quote on a private-secondary platform guarantee that the trade will close?

No. The SEC notes that private-company securities are often restricted and a resale must be registered or fit an exemption; issuer documents may add rights of first refusal and company consent. A displayed bid or ask shows interest, but does not guarantee approval, settlement or liquidity.

Does accredited-investor status mean that an investment is suitable?

No. The status determines eligibility for some unregistered offerings; it does not certify quality, liquidity or suitability. An eligible investor must still examine disclosure, valuation, lock-ups, capital calls, conflicts and every layer of fees before committing.

Does custody technology make its provider a qualified custodian?

No. Identify the licensed legal entity that actually maintains the cash or securities, and verify the contract, account structure and direct statements. Under the SEC custody rule, a qualified custodian maintains assets in a client-named account or an account containing only client assets.

Why does a €1 entry into private markets cost more than a €100,000 one?

Because the charge sits in a different place. A €1 ticket exists only inside an evergreen ELTIF, a regulated retail fund whose own ongoing charges run at ≈2.35–2.8% a year plus a performance fee and which promises periodic redemption. A €100,000 ticket buys an interest in a feeder that holds one named fund, where the platform's own layer is 0.25–1% a year and the money is locked for the fund's life. The annual charge is the price of retail access and of liquidity, so compare the two over the full holding period rather than at entry.

At what deal size does a flat SPV fee beat a percentage one?

At a raise of roughly $400,000 on the two published price lists. Sydecar charges 2% of capital raised, banded between $2,500 and $12,500, plus a $2,000 regulatory fee; AngelList charges ≈$8,000 of setup plus ≈$2,000 of blue-sky pass-through, capped together at 10% of the SPV. Below the crossover the banded percentage is cheaper, above it the flat fee is. Then add the lines that are not in either headline: additional closings, distributions, an intermediate pass-through entity, and any carry the platform takes on introduced investors.

Discuss “Private Investor Infrastructure: A Map of Platforms for Family Offices”

Alena Peteneva
Author of the materialAlena PetenevaLawyer, Family Office

Your question about “Private Investor Infrastructure: A Map of Platforms for Family Offices”

We’ll reply to the email address you provide.

Your contacts are used to answer this request. No mailing lists.